Top Ten

Top Ten Books That Were Hard to Get Through

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday 9.5

  1. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand): I really dislike this book. Not only is this book long, but I could not connect to the characters at all. I don’t always have to connect or like characters to like a book, but their actions were irrational to me. I also just don’t like Ayn Rand and her writing, but I had to finish this book for my sophomore high school English class.
  2. A Deep Dark Secret (Kimberla Lawson Roby): I got this book at a library sale that they were having. It was so so so poorly written, and I’m not even sure if I got through it all. I think this was a DNF.
  3. The Metamorphosis (Franz Kafka): This was another required reading for high school, and I just did not understand the meaning behind the story or the characters. If I don’t like a book, it makes it so much harder to read through it.
  4. 1984 (George Orwell): Again, I did not like the characters or the story which made the reading process a chore.
  5. Great Expectations (Charles Dickens): I kind of liked this book, but one of the issues for me was that it was so long, that I got a little lost. This made me have to stop and look stuff up because I could not remember the plot or some characters.
  6. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood): I did not like this book, but we had to read it for high school (I see a pattern…). I don’t like Margaret Atwood’s writing style, and
  7. This is How You Lose Her (Junot Diaz): This book had different plot lines that kept jumping around. I found it hard to follow.
  8. Grendel (John Gardner): This book was horrible which made it so hard to get through. It literally takes one of the scariest monsters in all of literature, and it makes it such a whimp!
  9. Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy): This is one of my favorite books ever. However, there were complete chapters on harvesting that could have been taken out. That is what made it hard to get through.

Let me know in the comments below what were some of the books that you found hard to get through.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Were Hard to Get Through”

  1. 1984 was really difficult. I remember struggling with it when it was assigned in high school. I reread it earlier this year because… politics… and I found it was a little easier, but still took me way longer than I wanted! A lot of 80s science fiction is REALLY slow.

Leave a Reply

