Featured Tags, Top Ten

Top Ten Hidden Gem Books in Classics

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten 829

  1. Long Day’s Journey Into Night (Eugene O’Neill): This play touches on addiction and what does to a family. I read it in high school (way way back in the day), and I hope kids are still reading it today.
  2. Things Fall Apart (Chinua Achebe): If you are looking for diverse reads, look no further. It is written by a Nigerian author about the colonization of East Africa. It is a modern classic for sure.
  3. Collected Novellas (Gabriel Garcia Marquez): Pretty much anything that GGM writes, I will read. He is most known for Love in the Time of Cholera and One Hundred Years of Solitude, but I think he is a much better novella and short story writer. He really grabs your attention from the beginning and completely engulfs you in the world he has created.
  4. The Pearl (John Steinbeck): I also read this in high school, and I loved it. Like many of Steinbeck’s books, this is not a happy book with a happy ending, but it is short and very poignant. Definitely check it out.
  5. Madame Bovary (Gustave Flaubert): One of my favorite authors. Love this book. Adultery. France.
  6. Chronicle of a Death Foretold (Gabriel Garcia Marquez): Again, if GGM writes it, I will read it. This is my absolute favorite novella that I have read from him. It looks at a community after something happens and how the community deals with it. Want to explore the mob mentality? Read it.
  7. Brideshead Revisited (Evelyn Waugh): One of the BEST Catholic fiction out there. Even if you are not Catholic, this story is absolutely amazing. If you don’t want to read it, listen to the audiobook narrated by Jeremy Irons or watch the miniseries with Jeremy Irons. By the way, this is the miniseries that all other BBC miniseries is modeled after. It is so true to the book.
  8. A Good Man is Hard to Find (Flannery O’Conner): I feel like Flannery O’Conner (aka the Queen of Southern Gothic Literature) is not as widely read as I like. Maybe it’s because I live in the South, that people know her, but not many have read her work. It is dark. Really dark. However, her writing is amazing, and she packs so much meaning into her stories.
  9. The Hobbit (J.R.R. Tolkein): A true modern classic.
  10. In Cold Blood (Truman Capote): I don’t know if people consider this a classic, but I do. It explores the murders of a family in Kansas and the motives of their killer. It is fascinating and a page-turner.

Let me know what you think of these books or what your top ten hidden gems are. Leave a comment below!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Hidden Gem Books in Classics”

Leave a Reply

