Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays // 2/2/15

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What do you think about re-purposing old books (eg. into art journals, etc)? Why?

Thingsfallapart

I’m currently (still) reading Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe. I’m hoping to finish in the next week or so.

This Week’s Random Question:

I’m not really sure how I feel about re-purposing old books. On the one hand, I think the end products comes out really cool, but on the other hand, I feel so horrible about people destroying books. I guess I am more ok with re-purposing old books from thrift shops that need to be loved. Some of the ideas on Pintrest are really cool. I think it bothers me more when new books are used for craft projects. For example, when people carve out little hollows to hide engagement rings. Cute idea, but… really? What did the book do to you?

What do you think? Leave a comment below. 🙂

signature

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays // 2/2/15”

  1. I feel the same way about new books being used to make stuff! I’ve seen handbags made out of pretty hardcovers and I just feel weird about them… what a waste of all that story! For a handbag that doesn’t even seem to be a useful size too… poor books.

  2. Hmm, I guess I’m more okay with repurposing new books than read ones. The book doesn’t really live without a reader and so I hate the thought of destroying a book which contains someone’s thoughts and emotional responses a lot more than I hate the idea of destroying a new, unread book.

Leave a Reply

