Answer Me This

Answer Me This // 1

Answer Me This3

This is a question series hosted by Kendra at Catholic All Year. Check out her blog!

1. Do you hate happy clappy church music?

I hate happy clappy music at mass. There are a few songs that I will belt out from time to time, but in general, I do not like having post-Vatican II songs at mass. I think there are such beautiful and profound hymns that should be brought back to the liturgy. It makes me sad that they are being forgotten.  I also have a love for Latin chants. I love me a good introit, but to each his own. While happy clappy music does help some people feel more fulfilled at mass, I personally could do without it. This is my all-time favorite church song EVER. I sang it once for Holy Week with my choir.

2. What is your priority: eating or sleeping?

Sleeping, for sure.  Naps are always your friend.

3. What type of milk do you drink in your house?

Since I am lactose-intolerant, I don’t drink cow milk anymore. It is bad news bears for me.  However, I do drink soy milk, almond milk, and rice milk. It really just depends on what is for sale that week.

4. What is a book that changed your perspective on something?

Persepolis-books1and2-covers

These two graphic novels were very enlightening about the Iranian Revolution. I didn’t really know a lot about this topic, and this book was very good about laying out the historic background and current events in a context that was readily accessible. This is a autobiographic two volume novel about Marjane Satrapi’s life in Iran. I highly recommend it.

5. Who is your favorite saint?

Catherine_of_Siena

Hands down my favorite saint is St. Catherine of Siena. She is *excuse my language* kick-ass. Let be real. Mary and Christ appeared to her, and Christ placed a ring on her hand and espoused Himself to her. How cool is that? She was instrumental in bringing the Papacy back to Rome after it had resided in France. She is not only a doctor of the Church, but she is also the patron saint against fire, illnesses, miscarriages and sexual temptation.

The runner-up and second runner-up would definitely have to be St. Cecilia and St. Dominic. I mean, he did receive the rosary from Our Lady.

6. Introvert or extrovert?

Extrovert. 100%. I am an extrovert.

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 10.32.57 PM

2 thoughts on “Answer Me This // 1”

Leave a Reply

